Assessment of the ICD-11 dimensional trait model: An introduction to the special section

R. Michael Bagby, Thomas A. Widiger

Research output: Contribution to journalArticlepeer-review

14 Scopus citations


The 11th edition of the World Health Organization's International Classification of Diseases (ICD-11; World Health Organization, 2018) is scheduled to include a major shift in the classification of personality disorders. All (but one) of the ICD-10 categorical personality disorder syndromes will be deleted from the ICD-11, replaced by a five-domain dimensional trait model. The five ICD-11 trait domains are negative affectivity, detachment, dissociality, disinhibition, and anankastia. Clinicians first rate a patient with respect to a level of personality disorder severity, followed by the option of also rating the person with respect to the five trait domains along with a borderline pattern qualifier. This special section of Psychological Assessment is concerned with the self-report assessment of the ICD-11 personality disorders section, particularly (albeit not exclusively) with respect to the dimensional trait model.

Original languageEnglish
Pages (from-to)1-7
Number of pages7
JournalPsychological Assessment
Issue number1
StatePublished - Jan 2020

Bibliographical note

Publisher Copyright:
© 2019 American Psychological Association.


  • ICD-11
  • Maladaptive traits
  • Personality disorders

ASJC Scopus subject areas

  • Clinical Psychology
  • Psychiatry and Mental health


Dive into the research topics of 'Assessment of the ICD-11 dimensional trait model: An introduction to the special section'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this