August Wilson: Completing the Twentieth-Century Cycle

Research output: Book/ReportBookpeer-review

5 Scopus citations


Just prior to his death in 2005, August Wilson, arguably the most important American playwright of the last quarter-century, completed an ambitious cycle of ten plays, each set in a different decade of the twentieth century. Known as the Twentieth-Century Cycle or the Pittsburgh Cycle, the plays, which portrayed the struggles of African-Americans, won two Pulitzer Prizes for Drama, a Tony Award for Best Play, and seven New York Drama Critics Circle Awards. August Wilson: Completing the Twentieth-Century Cycle is the first volume devoted to the last five plays of the cycle individually-Jitney, Seven Guitars, King Hedley II, Gem of the Ocean, and Radio Golf-and in the context of Wilson's entire body of work. Editor Alan Nadel's May All Your Fences Have Gates: Essays on the Drama of August Wilson, a work Henry Louis Gates called definitive, focused on the first five plays of Wilson's cycle. This new collection examines from myriad perspectives the way Wilson's final works give shape and focus to his complete dramatic opus. It contains an outstanding and diverse array of discussions from leading Wilson scholars and literary critics. Together, the essays in Nadel's two volumes give Wilson's work the breadth of analysis and understanding that this major figure of American drama merits.

Original languageEnglish
Number of pages228
StatePublished - 2010

Bibliographical note

Funding Information:
This work was supported by NASA Langley Research Center under Grant NAS-1468. The surface acoustic wave program used for the analysis was provided by E. L. Adler of McGill University, Canada.

ASJC Scopus subject areas

  • General Arts and Humanities


Dive into the research topics of 'August Wilson: Completing the Twentieth-Century Cycle'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this